Turning Twenty-Sevenish!

Sinawo Bukani - Turning Twenty Seven.png

I happened to come across a list called a ‘100 truths’ posted by a friend on Facebook yesterday. I decided to join the challenge but only answer 27 of those questions since that’s the age I turn in a week. 

  • My brother was the last person to call me (he’s almost always the only human that ever calls me).
  • The one song I’ve been listening to all week is Freshly Ground – Moto.
  • I’ve never been drunk; even in high school I was always afraid of getting in trouble with my mom.
  • I’ve kissed someone and regretted it (and cried bitterly as he was driving away) and when I went back to my friends flat, she thought he’d raped me.
  • Babalwa Mtshoko is the one person I would’ve never expected to have been this close to, she’s made such an impact in my life, truly grateful to have her in my space.
  • For my last birthday, I lied to everyone and said I wasn’t home but my friends still came around to pick me up.
  • One thing I don’t think people know about me is that I am not keen on having kids at all!!! #DearFutureHusband
  • My dad calls me Mumgobhozi, it’s a nickname from when I was a child, other humans call me ‘Nawo’
  • My most visited webpage is Dani Shapiro’s blog.
  • Current crush is definitely going to read this; so maybe I must refrain from being too open about him (just this once). Forgiven? Thanks…
  • I like that I am not afraid to make mistakes, I haven’t always been this way though.
  • The best thing I’ve ever given myself is self-care ❤
  • My first best friend was Cassandra in grade 3, we shared our lunches together everyday.
  • The first and last vacation I was ever on was with my best friend and her family, I think it was called the ‘Klein Karoo and Garden Route something something’ bestest holiday ever! I even kissed an ostrich on that trip.
  • I’m about to eat supper prepared by my sister and proofread a friend’s written piece.
  • First thing that captures my heart about the opposite sex are words and thoughts. Oh and dark skin.
  • I don’t like hugging or I don’t know how to #SociallyAwkwardHumanProblems
  • Yes I believe in miracles. I am actually my own (favourite) miracle actually.
  • ‘All that Bass’ by Meghan Trainor made me dance more times in one month, than any other song in my whole entire life.
  • Shrek is my most watched movie because the nephew makes us watch it ALL THE TIME.
  • If I could go back in time, I would go back to the time my mother fell in love with my father. I wouldn’t change anything but just to see who she became my mother.
  • Yes, I am afraid of falling in love again.
  • People always call me a feminist as if it’s a swear word.
  • Last book I read was ‘A Fork, Arrow, Red Tight Costume and Cupid’ (a book that is affectionately called the #YellowBoneBook) by Rodney Roskruge, it’s a collection of 136 poems.
  • The most exciting thing God is doing in my life right now is teaching me how to ‘Live by Faith.’
  • I am always collecting memories. I keep a journal and a scrapbook. I am always taking screenshots and I record phone calls.
  • I don’t have a dream car and probably never will.

Cover Photo By: Nhlakanipho Nhlapo


What random facts about yourself can you think of? 

5 thoughts on “Turning Twenty-Sevenish!

  1. Right now you’re my favorite writer..

    I have been going through every post you have ever written and feeling like your pretty damn awesomeness..

    I laughed so hard at the fact that you cried so hard after a kiss your friend thought you were raped..

    I have never intentionally been on . date

    I have a dream that my first boyfriend will be the person I marry (here is to hearts not letting us down)

    I do everything in my power to avoid confrontation. I talk too much but I can’t get into arguments that aren’t political or general in nature

    I love South African television series, they are hard to come by but when I do I stay on even though they never seem to end. My current favorite is Scandal!!

    I have to stop here because I need to go check the rest of your blog..

    Only one of my sisters ever calls me just to check

    Am groupie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Favorite writer!!! How can I not get all emo at this??? thank you my sweet heart, this means a whole lot to me.

      I appreciate every moment you spend here ❤

      The kiss *face over blushing face* I still haven't figured out why I cried so much but when I stopped crying, I blocked him.

      First boyfriend? You've never had a boyfie?

      Yes Scandal is the power. But I don't watch much tv.

      Wait don't go, tell me more about your sisters!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The last person who called me is my sister, Angela (She had questions about her Phd dissertation corrections).
    I’ve been listening to the entire Messiah composition since december last year. I am listening to it now.
    I’ve been drunk before. It was stupid, and I’m glad that won’t be happening again.
    Yes I have kissed someone and couldn’t stand to swallow my own spit after. I had many regrets not just over my having to kiss him.
    Daniel is that one person I honestly
    could have ever guessed will become such a huge part of me. Pleasant surprise.
    My last birthday… I only remember being very very grateful to God for the day. It was a solemn reflective day for me.
    One thing people don’t know about me? Yeah let’s keep it that way 🙂
    Not sure what this question is asking but my Dad calls me Maame Konadu when he’s in a jolly mood. The rest of my close fam call me Hannah or Amma sometimes.
    My most visited webpage is poetryfoundation.org cos I like to read their random poems, I’ve found gems over the years.
    Current crush? Lol! Does Dr. Reid from Criminal Minds count?
    I like that I am able to understand people easily. Nothing really surprises me. That’s probably cos I have been a terrible person at certain points in my life, hurt people, etc…things I had said I wouldn’t do. I have come to appreciate the value of forgiveness, and forgiven greatly myself for loads of shit, I forgive…freely.
    The best thing I’ve ever given myself is letting myself go. Relinquishing control, I was a shipwreck when I was captain. God be praised!
    My first best friend was Angela, we are still close friends, she’s tying the knot in a few months! 😀
    I’ve never been on a vacation. I used to work with an on-campus exchange programme so I traveled a lot with the international students. My best trip was one of the CapeCoast weekend trips. The hotel stay was marvelous – Elmina beach resort, the beach at dawn and dusk was breathtaking! I roomed with Mariam Aziz, one of the most fired up young Christian woman i’ve ever met. She sowed a seed, that one.
    I’m about tp finish up with this comment and do some writing myself.
    First thing that captures me bout the opposite sex…attitude, content of conversation.
    I love hugging my loved ones…holding them and being held. Love to stand on mu tiptoe and give the tall ones full, warm hugs, lol!
    “Yes I believe in miracles, I am my own most favorite ongoing miracle actually.” Oh me too, me too!
    Dansaki makes me move!
    Three Idiots is my most watched. I still laugh and cry every time.
    If I could go back in time, I wouldn’t have offended one of my closest friends. Our friendship is stale now and it was all my fault. I’m sorry.
    I am in love. It is a beautiful learning process. Calm…sweet…God-filled.
    People say I am magnetic in a weird way, that I am too smart (while I know it is the contrary, rather) and that I bind people when I am part of a group.
    I am not sure about all that.
    Last book I read (I re-read actually – my third read) was A.W. Tozer’s The Pursuit of God.
    The most exciting thing God is doing with me is helping me declutter my life, my heart, my mind, and doing a ruthless job. It is not easy, I want out sometimes. But He’s got me!
    I didn’t use to keep a lot of journals. But now I do. I write down the most moving quotes I encounter and sometimes take shots of them. Recently, I realize I have to keep records of my changing body, to help me stay in tune.
    My dream car is a foos truck as it stands now. I want a sparkling new, full-equiped foos truck for my culinary business. Lol! One to carry me and my family around, i don’t have one I fancy, any comfy, economical car would do. Preferrably one that can go on long roadtrips :-D!!!

    Yup aaand that’s me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my gosh I love the Messiah album, my goodness. I wrote my learning journal and performance development with it on repeat, so grateful for their music.

      Sounds like your regrettable kiss is a story and a half just like mine 😁

      The Daniel’s in our lives are truly special.

      I will check out poetryfoundation.org for myself then.

      Yes true. When you’ve messed up a couple of times, you’re more empathetic and patient with others rather than being too quick to judge and hurt back.

      I think out of everything listed above, I am going away with the best thing you’ve given yourself, which is to relinquish complete control of yourself, it became a quiet prayer the minute I read it, for God to teach me the same because ‘I am a shipwreck when I am captain’

      Congratulations to your friend Angela 💝

      So you’re the total opposite of me when it comes to the hugging, I super suck at it 🙈

      Send me something by Dansaki on WhatsApp please.

      Oh yes to being in love 😘 #BaeThings

      I have that book, never got a chance to read it. I actually have about 5 of his books. Hope to have enough time to read in the New Year.

      Yes to decluttering your life, I love that stage. God making space for what He knows is best for you.

      The foos truck bit made me giggle.

      Thank you Amma 😍

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

