To You, First Love

For the whole month of February, I will be posting a letter of gratitude to the people who have contributed immensely to the woman I am today. Some letters I’m thinking of sending to those I’ve written about and some I hope are never read. This will be the first time I post daily. So I am really keen on seeing how it will turn out, both for me and for those who follow this blog. I look forward to your thoughts and feedback in the comments section below. The theme for all the letters is that ‘We Are Stories’ and I will be telling mine in #29LettersOfGratitude for a whole month. If you would like to join me (PLEASE DO!!!) remember to link me in your posts.

Thank you to Shawn Davis, who’s joined me from today. Please do follow his month long posts too…

On the 17th of the past month,
you called to wish me a ‘Happy Birthday’.

And last year on the same day,
Your siblings sung on the phone for me.

Even when we were still an Us,
I had to accept that our love affair came with their inclusion.

I can’t believe our 8 months of juvenile love,
is still spilling itself into adulthood.
Even though we’ve resolved,
to never spend together ever again.

We ended eons ago.
But here am I,
still finding you at the doorstep of my gratitude.

So thank you for finding me at the peak of our strongest convictions.

Otherwise I’m pretty sure,
I would’ve mothered our first born child at 23.

I know for the longest time we wondered;
how we would’ve turned out,
if we had found each other in a different lifetime?

But I’m pretty sure,
we would still lose each other the same way.

I’m glad we’ve let go of the ‘what-if’
Because everything we couldn’t be,
has become everything we are now… beautifully separated.

Us has taught me,
two people who’ve loved each other passionately.
Can also live apart gracefully.

I still appreciate you for introducing me to the Joy of The Soil,
when I was so immersed with Adele’s heartbreak.

Before you.
All I knew about love was naught.
But with you I found my very own fairy tale.

Thank you for still being on the other side of this letter of gratitude.
Even though you’ll always believe, you owed me more.

When I think of you;
it is always your smile I see first,
and your laughter I remember the longest.

So thank you for always being a fond memory.
One I recount with warmth and the greatest pleasure.

And for all the promises you made but couldn’t keep,
for those too I am grateful.

Our ending was the fulfillment of our predestined script,
because together we would have kept losing our way.

Our love.
The ultimate sacrifice.
The offering we had to surrender to have our innocence back.

Thank you for being the first that’s asked this baby heart to stay.

Thank you for ignoring me,
when I insisted you keep the family at bay.

They turned out to be one of our best highlights.
I still miss them sometimes…

Thank you for the other half of your cuff-link.
Even though I lost it a long time ago,
I still treasure its meaning dearly in my heart.

Cover Photo By: Lutendo Malatji


Do you still remember your first love? Is it a story you still tell? Ever write about it?

 

19 thoughts on “To You, First Love

  1. Pingback: My Love Affair With Writer Men | Sinawo Bukani

  2. Pingback: Why She Writes | Sinawo Bukani

  3. Pingback: Black Men Rock Too – Sinawo Bukani

  4. Pingback: We Are Stories – Sinawo Bukani

  5. Pingback: These Gratitude Things | Everything and Nothing

  6. Pingback: To My Lost Valentine… – The Baby Steps…

  7. Ow wow that is beautiful, u are jst amazing I will give u that! U really took me aback, u had me going for a moment back to moments distant from site but close to the heart, times I will not forget memories I relish on from time to time memories too vivid to forgert, if any one should be grateful it should be me for being graced with such a blessing as urself once upon a time in my miserable lyf ! Honestly it’s really u I should thank for all the fun times laughter and for all we have now ( unforgettable memories) I am happy where I am just as u are happy, I wish for u a bright preposterous tomorrow as u do me, I guess will always b part of each other’s lives …….. for as long as the pen still bears seed at least

    Liked by 1 person

  8. But you can’t do this, write and make me cry..
    I can’t wait for the rest of it all..

    I did just 7 days of gratitude a while back and I got me an attitude makeover and this is very tempting..

    So happy you ended up on the bright side of this love fest..

    Good job

    Liked by 1 person

    • thank you so much. I am not sorry I made you cry!!! hahahahaha I must read your 7 days though and steal your ideas kikikikiki I swear I love being grateful, it takes me to all these beautiful places and emotions in my life I had long forgotten about.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

