To Makulu

For the whole month of February, I will be posting a letter of gratitude to the people who have contributed immensely to the woman I am today. Some letters I’m thinking of sending to those I’ve written about and some I hope are never read. This will be the first time I post daily. So I am really keen on seeing how it will turn out, both for me and for those who follow this blog. I look forward to your thoughts and feedback in the comments section below. The theme for all the letters is that ‘We Are Stories’ and I will be telling mine in #29LettersOfGratitude for a whole month. If you would like to join me (PLEASE DO!!!) remember to link me in your posts.

 

*Makulu Wam – My Grandmother

*Mamngwevu – Her Clan Name

I don’t think I’ve ever told you, but you are in every happy memory of my childhood. A grim forest I survived only because you refused to let go of my hand. I am told that you are the first woman I ever called ‘mother’ and looking back, I can understand why.

When I think about you Mamngwevu, the first thing that comes to mind is how many times all your other grandchildren have complained that I am your favorite.

Thank you for never denying it!!!

Because of you, I always knew what love was, before the dictionary even taught me. Maybe spoiling me, can be frowned upon by those who don’t understand, how much I needed to be someone… anyone’s favorite.

Thank you for the mornings you wake me up so we can chat. Every story you’ve shared with me, with all those people whose names I can never remember, have brought us closer than you’ll ever understand.

Thank you for being the only person who sucks up to me, when you feel you’ve jeopardized our relationship. This way I know you care enough to remedy what you broke.

Thank you for making a fuss when I get sick, even though it’s the same time every single month. You never get tired of looking after me, even at an age when you have your own aches and pains.

Thank you for being home to this restless soul ❤

Even for the calls now that we live apart. For a few minutes in my days, I know there is someone who just wants to listen to me talk.

I am grateful for the new outfit you insisted on buying for me, when I went on my first air-plane flight. You gave me a sense of pride, that only you knew I needed.

I appreciate everything you do for me even when I haven’t asked. 

Thank you for telling me about the early 90’s. I’ve realized he’ll always be a harsh memory for my mother to share. I always love knowing him through your words.

Thank you for the earliest hours of my mornings, when you cover my warm body with your blanket, because you never want me to be cold.

Thank you for being the only human on planet earth, who isn’t offended by my quietness…

Even though my quiet has a love affair with music. The earphones have never stopped you from bringing me out of my solitude.

Now that you are moving back home, I know I’ll be harassed repeatedly to wear warmer clothes. I also can’t wait for the words you’ll hear on television that I will have to translate for you.

Thank you for openly sharing your hardships, so I am always reminded of your strength.

Enkosi Makulu Wam ❤

For you, I am most grateful…

Cover Photo By: Zwelizwe Ndlovu


 

How is your relationship with your grandparents? What memories do you hold dear about the time spent with them? 
21 thoughts on “To Makulu

  1. Pingback: Why I Celebrate Africa | Sinawo Bukani

  2. Pingback: 10 Reasons Why Single Is The New Black – Sinawo Bukani

  3. Pingback: We Are Stories – Sinawo Bukani

  4. “enkosi” That’s thank you right?
    Thanks to you now whenever I am watching a scandal episode I pay more attention to the subtitles because I am interested in the language ..
    Beautiful as always with a fresh touch that only you know how to put in words..
    Your Makulu must be proud
    Iam

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

