To Our Bundle Of Sleepless Nights

For the whole month of February, I will be posting a letter of gratitude to the people who have contributed immensely to the woman I am today. Some letters I’m thinking of sending to those I’ve written about and some I hope are never read. This will be the first time I post daily. So I am really keen on seeing how it will turn out, both for me and for those who follow this blog. I look forward to your thoughts and feedback in the comments section below. The theme for all the letters is that ‘We Are Stories’ and I will be telling mine in #29LettersOfGratitude for a whole month. If you would like to join me (PLEASE DO!!!) remember to link me in your posts.

As I write this, he is standing on my hip. Yes, the bone that connects my bottom half to my top. I give him a stern look, hoping to scare him off without saying a word. This prompts him to jiggle mocking me instead, letting me know he has no intention of getting off.

Because he is my two year old nephew; I choose to stay still. I keep staring. It seems to work, a nervous smile takes shape on his face. And in an instant, he is in the air and I vibrate as his feet land on the bed. I feel familiar pain where his feet were just standing but this is nothing new.

He crawls to the top part of the bed and puts both of his hands at the sides of my face. I don’t look at him, unmoved by the gesture. He doesn’t give up and goes in for a kiss. He must be amused with himself because he erupts in giggles when I don’t respond. Then thoughtfully he says ‘Avu Awo’ … this time I melt and forget all about his transgressions instantly – I embrace him back and with the deepest sincerity I respond ‘I love you too Osi’.

Mission complete.

He jumps off the bed and walks away; he’s shouting out my name. I realize he isn’t calling me but seems to be telling me something in baby talk that I cannot understand. When he is back in the room he’s dragging his car. ‘The most expensive toy he has’ as his grandfather, the purchaser always enjoys reminding us.

He no longer rides on it, now it is used to help him reach for things that are deliberately put out of his reach. Fears of him possibly hurting himself refuse to subside, so I am forced to quietly oversee his attempts of getting the mini truck onto the bed. This time he doesn’t care to touch my face for acceptance. The car is too big to be carried by a child his age. But It is mounted on the bed within seconds and his short legs are next…

His name is Osiphesona, a name given by me. The full meaning is ‘For the gift You have given us, we are grateful’ And for him, every single day I truly am. I never knew until he was born that I was this capable of loving another human as much as I adore him.

And I think he knows it…

He is a full time JOB!!! Sometimes even his naughtiness warms my heart. Because of Osi, I’ve become one of those people that randomly show strangers pictures of a toddler in the taxi. I even unashamedly make my friends talk to him on the phone. It’s really embarrassing how I carry on.

I am most grateful for our little bundle of sleepless nights ❤ I could have never even dreamed of having such a precious addition in our family because he’s too perfect a gift to even wish for. He’s turned out to be the greatest surprise any aunt could ever ask for ❤

Cover Photo By: Lutendo Malatji


Any unexpected gifts of sleepless nights in your family? How have they impacted your life?

12 thoughts on “To Our Bundle Of Sleepless Nights

  1. Pingback: 10 Reasons Why Single Is The New Black – Sinawo Bukani

  2. Pingback: We Are Stories – Sinawo Bukani

Leave a Reply

