Google Our New Companion

I listened to a radio DJ today unable to answer a question asked by a caller, he fumbled for a response and painfully struggled reading through what sounded like scribbled notes, I suspected written for him by his producer in a panic. I was disappointed he didn’t know the answer mostly because I also didn’t. The question asked roused an interest and I turned to Google. Bombarded with many search results, I was satisfied, in just a matter of minutes I had acquired knowledge sitting in the quiet of the family car.

This is what we do, when we seek and desperately need answers, when we don’t understand what is being asked, we just turn to our trusted friend, Google. Statistics prove that is because we have converted into a knowledge hungry generation that is satisfied with instant answers.

This conversation with myself got me wondering if Google wasn’t sidestepping one of the most ancient traditions of our way of life, companionship.

Google cannot cater to me specifically or discern my spirit, instead Google gives the same answer. We are all categorized under one single altered search result. Without fail a list of options is offered, for you to choose what you want and leave behind what you don’t. Maybe that is what we like, a little bit of us in every answer, choosing the one we enjoy the most, the one we feel most comfortable accepting.

I believe that the role of technology in our lives is to help provide answers and equip us with knowledge, but not something we should totally rely on and misuse. A true companion knows your name and stands beside you in prayer even when you don’t know it. They wash your feet because they know the walking of this world accumulates dirt. And their insights and wisdom is not only limited to what we ask.

Ask yourself, are you able to discern between knowledge and depth or what is specifically wrong for you? How do you expect a general search result to always be enough for you?

Originally created for a Christian Blog: Our Speaking Hearts

Cover Photo By: Sipho Biyam

9 thoughts on “Google Our New Companion

  1. Oh Lord I am ashamed to even admit it. Google is my go to buddy. Even in a life threatening situation my first instinct is to Google, no one I dont have friends. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a good post. I was beginning to think that something is wrong with me. Anytime I have a question about something, before I go to Google I always ask someone close. They would give me either of the two answers: “I don’t know” or “ask Google”. Then I would think that I’m old fashioned for not thinking about Google.
    However in my opinion technology is making generations dull and duller. and cutting actual human interaction.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s true. i see it on Facebook everyday, someone will ask a question and everyone will direct them to Google. No, sometimes you just want to ask a human being and talk and hear their opinion rather than inquire your computer.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. ..and what if its all a great conspiracy, we become so used to google having all the answers we stop trying to think for ourselves, just Google and slowly we out-source all our thinking to google and pretty soon we are just zombies…..
    ~B

    PS I happen to Google everything sometimes I even google myself to see how original an Idea I think is all mine, and sometimes I get disappointed to see someone else thought it…… but great minds.

    PPS some things men was not meant to know but for all else thats why they invented Google

    Liked by 1 person

    • Actually one of the reasons I started my blog was to allow myself to think, to explore and confront my own original thoughts. I always depended on other people and Google to do it for me. I don’t blame Google but I became too dependent. Now I’ve completely outgrown it but I’ve observed how Google is becoming too much a participant in our lives.

      I should google myself too hahaha even though I must admit how nervous that makes me. .

      Most of the time Google doesn’t have the answers for me 😦 I guess the I’m too weird for the internet.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. ……and what if its all a great conspiracy, we become so used to google having all the answers we stop trying to think for ourselves, just Google and slowly we out-source all our thinking to google and pretty soon we are just zombies…..
    ~B

    PS I happen to Google everything sometimes I even google myself to see how original an Idea I think is all mine, and sometimes I get disappointed to see someone else thought it…… but great minds.

    PPS some things men was not meant to know but for all else thats why they invented Google

    Like

Leave a Reply

