We Are More Than Just Flesh & Blood, We Are Souls Too

Processed with VSCO

In the book that I’m currently reading by Jodi PicoultSing You Home, it states ‘Some cognitive scientists believe human response to music provides evidence that we are more than just flesh and blood – that we have souls too. And because there is no revolutionary context within which people’s response to music makes sense – the tapping of a foot, the urge to sing along or get up to dance, there’s just no survival benefit to these activities. For this reason, some believe that our response to music, is proof that there’s more to us than just biological and physiological mechanics.’

As I sat amidst a crowd of #TheHeavyWeights Concert attendees at Carnival City, I quietly remember a fumbled up version of this quote. And within minutes of my arrival, the music without fail seems to gleefully stir the crowd from their seats to the dance floor. With each beat, the songs seems to bring us all together beyond the little cliques of friends that we are sitting in.

For 12 whole hours I get to experience the Big Top Arena being transformed by groups of strangers; coming alight with one energy, buzzing with young adults who’d paid to enjoy a great line-up of South Africa’s best artists perform live. A few like me, don’t even drink on the day, depending entirely on the music to intoxicate us, right up until the very last performance of the day.

#TheHeavyWeights Concert is like no other event I’ve ever been to. Firstly because there was no MC. Maybe I’m bias because I’ve never really had an appreciation for people who get paid to tell us tacky jokes or what should come next on the program.

So I found Thiko Event’s style of doing things to be quite refreshing, really setting them apart in my books. The only guidance throughout the whole show was through the big screens on all three sides of the stage.

I felt that this direction was the most natural technique of letting the show flow seamlessly, focusing purely on the great music that was promised, without wasting our precious time with frivolous nothingness.

The biggest highlight for me was seeing AKA perform live, it became one of those performances that will always be engraved in my memory forever. When he came on stage, I screamed until my ears hurt. I danced a very embarrassing version of the dab like my crush wasn’t beside me. I rapped along effortlessly, allowing his performance to elevate me to my highest levels of elation.

I was also seriously excited to observe that when house music DJs perform, there is an intentional integration of other musical instruments to what they play for us on stage. Mageza & Moscow is a great example of this as they infused the keyboard in their set keeping the audience insanely enthused. And when Roots drummed his epic set, I was immensely impressed with his unique skills.

When it was announced that Prince Kaybee would no longer be able to make it, his time was made up by other awesome entertainers like Busi N, Emtee and Kwesta. And when the crowds finally dispersed around 11pm, not a single person looked dissatisfied. Going home knowing that they had just experienced something infrequent and electrifying.

Photo By: Lonwabo Zimela


Do you ever attend events for the sole purpose of going to unwind and to have as much fun as possible? How necessary are these sessions for you?

One thought on “We Are More Than Just Flesh & Blood, We Are Souls Too

Leave a Reply

