When Men Are Forced To Make A Choice Between Sex Or War

Lonwabo Zimela, South African Photographer, Black Photographer, Black Male Photographer, Sinawo Bukani, Female Blogger, Lysistrata, African Adaptations Of Greek Classics With the Market
When my invitation to go review
Lysistrata for my blog was confirmed by email, I had no idea I’d committed to watching one of the best Theatre Productions of my whole entire life.

Lysistrata is originally a Greek classic comedy by Aristophanes. Originally performed in classical Athens in 411 BCE, it is a comic account of a woman’s extraordinary mission to end the Peloponnesian War by denying all the men of the land any sex, which was the only thing they truly and deeply desired.

In the modern South African adaptation of Lysistrata, Lysistrata (the lead character and mastermind of all the colluding) convinces other women of rural and urban KwaZulu Natal to withhold sexual privileges from their husbands and lovers as a means of forcing the men to negotiate peace and possibly put an end to the taxi war.

The play is made up of seven young black theatre performers (four females and 3 males). From start to finish, my partner and I were encaptured not only by the story but by the performance itself. The experience filled with so much excitement and I quickly discovered a deeper love for theatre being revived in me.

As someone who hasn’t seen the original adaptation of Lysistrata, I couldn’t imagine a better performance of this play. It was such a delight to watch. A true pleasure to be amongst the audience who were equally amused with the storyline and seemed to truly enjoy the hour we spent at POPArt Theatre.

Each stage part of the play kept introducing new ways of telling the story in the best possible way keeping us in high elated spirits. I loved the show. I wanted to take it home with me so everyone in my life could experience what I did on Thursday night. I didn’t want the feeling that stayed with me afterwards to ever leave me. Lysistrata surely goes down as an easy favorite of mine.  

And even though it is a little bit on the 16NL side but it surely is incredibly entertaining. It’s just another level of black excellence I am so excited to talk and write about. Those close to me should expect me to reference this experience a lot going forward.

The next show I am watching at POPArt this week is another Greek Classic adapted by Nondumiso Lwazi Msimanga. The Love of the Nightingale will be showing for only R80 from 13-16 April. I do hope to see you there.

Brief Synopsis: When questions go unanswered because society fears its own truths. A woman speaks! A tragic myth of never-ending shackles mirrors the injustices of today. The Love of the Nightingale, originally written by Timberlake Wertenbaker, releases the realities from the myth of Philomele. Her violated voice finally breaks the unrelenting curse. Nondumiso Lwazi Msimanga directs this adaptation of the myth of the rape of Philomele in collaboration with a cast of six-strong Market Lab ingenues that bring the myth home.

The Love of Nightingale, Sinawo Bukani, Nondumiso Msimanga, POPArt Theatre, Maboneng, Johannesburg, Literary Blogger, Female Blogger, The Market Theatre, South African Blogger, African A

Cover Photo by: Lonwabo Zimela

Leave a Reply

